Author Topic: Roleplaying blind, visually impaired or hindered characters  (Read 4608 times)

Offline MildlyAnnoyed

• Curious Wanderer
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
    • https://www.deviantart.com/rebel
    • View Profile
Roleplaying blind, visually impaired or hindered characters
« on: December 09, 2019, 12:19:10 am »
I know that another post was also done on this by the lovely I-Chipz-I, But I thought I'd kinda add onto this a bit, most of my characters are visually impaired and my most active one is a blind healer. don't forget to see I-Chipz-I post too! https://feral-heart.com/smf/index.php?topic=60976.0   I will be using my main character Barii, who is the blind medic I mentioned, for this guide. Most of this I learned from experience, I'm not an expert nor do I know anyone that's personally blind, so please keep this in mind. Barii's examples will be in pink, General examples will be Teal.

1. Senses
Sense plays a huge part in Blind characters, especially the ears, nose, and touch. It's not a good idea to make them ALL super strong, it can come off as OP. pick one that will be better than the rest. All 3 will still be heightened, but usually, its good to have your character have a preference.

For example, Barii is a medic, and Herbs usually have strong or unique scents, so he prefers smell and his nose is stronger than his ears and touch.

2. Flaws and quirks
Now, your blind character isn't perfect at everything. If you have a blind character then they aren't gonna perfectly take down that elk or maul the eyes of a rival. They're most likely gonna have some trouble unless they've trained for a long time.

For example, Barii cannot hunt at all and has no fighting skills, though he has trained as a medic his whole life.
Also Traits: things like the character being Clumsy, always running into stuff or tripping, etc.

3. Appearance