Author Topic: Writing a character with mental illness - tips and tricks  (Read 4222 times)

Offline KayKay

• Curious Wanderer
  • Floof-O-Meter: 2
  • laughter is the best medicine
    • STEAM_0:0:170006685
    • View Profile
Writing a character with mental illness - tips and tricks
« on: July 15, 2018, 07:13:48 pm »
I was unsure of where to post this, but this'll be helpful I hope.

DISCLAIMER: I am no professional, and as such I will ONLY be listing ones I'm familiar with, if anyone would like to add on its fine to do so, and feel free to correct me. anyway, moving on.

--
Mental illness is interesting to write into a character, but it is also really difficult to pull it off effectively without getting a few odd looks from others. Here's my tips and tricks to avoid awkward moments both in and out of character.

-
- Show don't tell

This is a rule in a lot of types of writing, but more so helpful here. It's executed in a better way when its shown through a few actions the characters do. If they lash out, don't outright explain it as "he did this because of his PTSD", make it subtle. make them a ticking time bomb, and don't over do it.

- Be respectful.

This is a no brainer, mental illness is really serious, and shouldn't be a joke at any given point. If you're roleplaying a character with any mental illness, it is not correct to say they're "crazy" or "insane", or a "nutjob." not only can it offend others who may actually suffer with any form of mental ailment, it can also ruin your chances of getting anywhere in an rp. don't do that. its not cute.

- Censor triggering topics when asked by an rp partner

This is a must in every situation. If a character is going through an episode and is supposed to end up harming themselves and your partner says they'd rather skip it, then please do. it can hinder the roleplay and almost tarnish the bond you two have.

- Do your research.