Feral Heart

Help & Guidance => Member Made Tutorials => Presets & Markings Tutorials => Topic started by: Ruby1234 on January 29, 2012, 03:32:22 pm

Title: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Ruby1234 on January 29, 2012, 03:32:22 pm
I've seen a number of topics about this, so I'm making this tutorial. ^^
Please note that this tutorial assumes that you have a preset made already.
So, let's begin.

First, go to: C:\Feralheart\my_presets.
And choose your preset's folder. Note that it doesn't have to be preset_11 or preset_12, as many people think it must be.
Once in your preset's folder, open it's material file in notepad. You will see all your codes, just scroll down to the very bottom.
Add this to the bottom:
Code: (Equip Codes) [Select]
material preset_#_equipMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture preset_#equip.jpg
}
}
}
}
material preset_#_equipMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture preset_#equip.jpg
}
}
}
}
Note that I have numbersigns in that code. Just change them to your preset's number.

Now, to make the image.
This is something that can be done easily, using the wing shadings as a guideline.
The wing shadings can be found in: C:\FeralHeart\media\textures.
So just make your wing texture, using those as a guide, and name the texture correctly, according to our code.
Then go in-game to Preset Maker, and then click your preset's number, add it's wings, and they should be there!

If you have any problems getting it to work, please feel free to post or PM me and ask. ^^
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Aberguine on March 22, 2012, 07:54:59 pm
Thank you for posting this!
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Zarorah on March 22, 2012, 08:54:14 pm
Thank you so much for this!  I've been having difficulty with a preset for so long, but this is great :D
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Ruby1234 on March 22, 2012, 10:00:50 pm
You're welcome guys.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: IcexWolf1 on March 29, 2012, 11:34:21 pm
Ok, Im too lazy to copy the wing shading, so I just merge it with the preset markings, but that makes the color paler than the rest of the body. Is there a way I can still do that without it being pale?
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Zarorah on April 01, 2012, 09:39:05 pm
Kayla, when you merge the wing shading, is that layer (with the wing) on 100%?
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: IcexWolf1 on April 02, 2012, 11:30:43 pm
No, i try to tone it down enough so it's visible, but it's still paler than the rest of the body.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Ruby1234 on May 01, 2012, 11:29:24 pm
Depends on what image program you're using. While changing the layer opacity works in some cases, in others, you might find it better to use the "Multiply" or "Divide" options.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: kattasmith on May 11, 2012, 09:33:48 am
My preset is now complete.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Ruby1234 on July 08, 2012, 10:18:21 pm
Glad to hear it. c:
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: courtneyrc on July 15, 2012, 01:12:04 pm
Hmm.. I'm having trouble with getting the wing texture I made to appear on the wings, for it always appears as default wings. I believe that I have done everything correct, but possibly I forgot a step? Here is what I did:

Am I missing something?
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Ruby1234 on July 15, 2012, 02:18:39 pm
I'll PM you. c:
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: SoulRevenge on July 17, 2012, 04:13:52 am
This is really helpful! BDDD.
Now I can finnaly make that dragon preset~</3
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset
Post by: Ruby1234 on September 04, 2012, 10:50:01 pm
Glad to hear it. :3
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Misty124 on December 11, 2012, 09:52:21 pm
MY PRESETS IT'S AWESOME WITH THAT!
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Ruby1234 on December 12, 2012, 02:53:21 am
MY PRESETS IT'S AWESOME WITH THAT!

Glad this helped ya. c:
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Eclipsen on December 29, 2012, 12:49:40 pm
Im having issues adding wings to any other preset besides 11 and 12. I entered the code in preset 6, but it refuses to work. 11 and 12 displays the wings no problem, but why doesnt the others? I doubled checked the codes many times. the files match, but still doesnt work.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Ruby1234 on December 31, 2012, 04:18:22 pm
Can you post your code here?
It should be working if you renamed the sections in the code to match the preset 6..
You went into Preset Maker and applied the wings right?
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Singing on February 15, 2013, 06:12:22 pm
Hey, idk why but I did something wrong and idk what. heres my code:

material preset_11_bodyMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11body.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_bodyMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11body.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_headMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11head.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_headMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11head.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_eyeMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11eye.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_eyeMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11eye.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_tailMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11tail.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_maneMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         lighting off
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         scene_blend alpha_blend
         depth_write off
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11mane.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_equipMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11equip.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_11_equipMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_11equip.jpg
         }
      }
   }
}


And heres a screen of what happens to my wings:

(http://i1289.photobucket.com/albums/b519/LaLaLaLaLaLaLand/screenshot_02152013_111058571_zps0c077f05.png)

Anyway u could help me? Thx!

EDIT: Now I changed it up a big, but the wings are pure white. Any ideas?
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: 580star on February 19, 2013, 06:44:36 pm
Awh, Thank you so much! I tried to make Encoding so I could add Wings to Preset 4, I failed miserably. Ahaha, Thank you, This was very Helpful. x3 -Nuzzles-
Kailey, Try making a Wing using Gimp/Photoshop, Maybe that will Help.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Ruby1234 on March 04, 2013, 01:52:21 pm
Yeeee, I'm late. xD
@kailey: Your texture is named incorrectly or it is not a .jpg. Or possibly not in a correct folder.

@580star: Glad it helped. xD
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: WolfVarrissa on February 21, 2015, 12:41:55 am
Thank u! Now I can make my presets. c:
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: ApeEscape92 on March 02, 2015, 05:32:35 pm
Ack. Seems no matter how hard I try they always come out white. T^T
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: AlphaEclipse on March 02, 2015, 08:55:25 pm
Ack. Seems no matter how hard I try they always come out white. T^T
Feel free to PM me regarding your issue; I'll be able to help you.  What preset number are you using? I can PM you the script if needed, as well as show you what you should name the files themselves.
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Brigett on September 07, 2015, 06:40:18 am
When i did my wing preset, i saved it and opened the game. im on preset maker. Wen i click te wings, they shows white! I saved them as preset_8equip.png
What should i do???
Title: Re: How to: Add Wings to Your Preset (Any Preset)
Post by: Echoing harmony on September 07, 2015, 01:46:34 pm
When i did my wing preset, i saved it and opened the game. im on preset maker. Wen i click te wings, they shows white! I saved them as preset_8equip.png
What should i do???
I suggest you don't reply to old threads, please look at the date before you reply to something.

Also, please post for help on the 'Help Boards'