Author Topic: Preset isn't showing up.  (Read 1798 times)

Offline MementoMors

  • Curious Wanderer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
  • cursed goatman
    • Memento-Mors
    • View Profile
    • My Toyhou.se
Preset isn't showing up.
« on: January 18, 2016, 09:50:31 pm »
I made a preset, but whenever I use the preset maker, it only shows up as the blank white thing. All of the code is correct, and all of the images are too. What can I do to make it show up properly?
I'll be the hyena. You'll see.

Offline Enoki

  • Herba Chronographus
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,698
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 121
  • Who lives in a portabella under a tree?
    • FantasyFungus
    • EnokiTheDryphon
    • Enoki_G
    • View Profile
    • The Realms of Yugure
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 09:59:12 pm »
Ah, make sure each image is 512x512 or 513x513, these are the only two sizes I know that work on FH.

'Tis also a good idea to double check the material file f'er any typos as well as checking the file names and types of each image. If the material file says "preset_#head.jpg" and the actual file is a .png, change the name in the material file to that.

Let me know if either of these fixes y'er issue. If not, if be happy to assist ye further.

Tmw you planned a ten minute nap but instead took a whole year.
☙Icon by dA JRProducts; Sig by PocketMutt❧

Offline TullileIsHere

  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 751
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 17
    • plonke
    • View Profile
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 10:02:10 pm »
If you're using a new version of GIMP, be sure to go to the "exports dialog" to save it in the .jpg (or png, if you've changed the format in the coding to that) format.

Offline MementoMors

  • Curious Wanderer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
  • cursed goatman
    • Memento-Mors
    • View Profile
    • My Toyhou.se
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2016, 10:25:42 pm »
Quote
Ah, make sure each image is 512x512 or 513x513, these are the only two sizes I know that work on FH.

'Tis also a good idea to double check the material file f'er any typos as well as checking the file names and types of each image. If the material file says "preset_#head.jpg" and the actual file is a .png, change the name in the material file to that.

Let me know if either of these fixes y'er issue. If not, if be happy to assist ye further.

I tried both of those, it didn't work. Got any more ideas?
I'll be the hyena. You'll see.

Offline Enoki

  • Herba Chronographus
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,698
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 121
  • Who lives in a portabella under a tree?
    • FantasyFungus
    • EnokiTheDryphon
    • Enoki_G
    • View Profile
    • The Realms of Yugure
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2016, 10:33:36 pm »
Hmm, mind posting a screenshot of y'er files and all coding used f'er y'er preset? I'm not sure what else could be causing this issue unless I can get a good look at what ye got so far.

Tmw you planned a ten minute nap but instead took a whole year.
☙Icon by dA JRProducts; Sig by PocketMutt❧

Offline G4RG0YLE

  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,431
  • Country: gb
  • Floof-O-Meter: 170
  • Avatar © Felicia on Discord ♡
    • View Profile
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2016, 10:42:27 pm »
Try this code, I put your username in for you, feel free to change it if you feel the need to rename it to your character instead.
Code: [Select]
material preset_10_bodyMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoBody_Left.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_bodyMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoBody_Right.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_headMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoHead_Left.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_headMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoHead_Right.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_eyeMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoEye_Left.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_eyeMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoEye_Right.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_tailMat
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoTail.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_10_maneMat
{
technique
{
pass
{
lighting off
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
scene_blend alpha_blend
depth_write off
texture_unit
{
texture MomentoHair.png
}
}
}
}

Don't forget to change the names of your preset .png/.jpg files to the names such as in the .mat file. For example, you'll need two copies of your preset body. One will be called MomentoBody_Left.png and the other will be MomentoBody_Right.png, this will enable your preset to have two sides of the same design. And if you change one side in any way, shape or form; it won't appear on the other side either. Make sure all your files are matching to the .mat file as well. I'll put an example below of my preset.

Spoiler

And in the .mat file, all the names will be things like ShurtleBody_Left.png, ShurtleBody_Right.png, all because I might want to make changes to one side of my preset and not the other.

Of course, this solution might not work. However I personally find it much easier for myself, others might have other ways of solving this issue. Enoki knows much more than I do, so her advice might solve this instead of mine, thought I might as well have a bit of input though. ^^'

© short ' cakes on Discord ♡

Offline MementoMors

  • Curious Wanderer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
  • cursed goatman
    • Memento-Mors
    • View Profile
    • My Toyhou.se
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2016, 10:54:13 pm »
Quote
Hmm, mind posting a screenshot of y'er files and all coding used f'er y'er preset? I'm not sure what else could be causing this issue unless I can get a good look at what ye got so far

Here: http://imgur.com/V3DDGkv
« Last Edit: January 18, 2016, 10:56:00 pm by Memento »
I'll be the hyena. You'll see.

Offline Enoki

  • Herba Chronographus
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,698
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 121
  • Who lives in a portabella under a tree?
    • FantasyFungus
    • EnokiTheDryphon
    • Enoki_G
    • View Profile
    • The Realms of Yugure
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2016, 11:32:46 pm »
Ah, y'er coding and files seem to be in order. 'Ave ye tried a different preset in the Preset Maker to see if 'tis y'er game that's acting up? It could very well be that, and not y'er actual preset files.

Ye can also try moving the preset files into a different folder, but make sure ye rename everything accordingly.

Tmw you planned a ten minute nap but instead took a whole year.
☙Icon by dA JRProducts; Sig by PocketMutt❧

Offline MementoMors

  • Curious Wanderer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
  • cursed goatman
    • Memento-Mors
    • View Profile
    • My Toyhou.se
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2016, 11:38:59 pm »
Okay, that worked. Thanks! :)
I'll be the hyena. You'll see.

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Preset isn't showing up.
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2016, 11:40:41 pm »
Locking since the issue is resolved c:
Farewell everyone<3