Author Topic: Issues On Using A Preset??  (Read 1223 times)

Offline BabyBones~

  • Forum Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ro
  • Floof-O-Meter: 0
    • View Profile
Issues On Using A Preset??
« on: January 06, 2017, 07:36:16 pm »
Recently I have asked a friend if she could do me a simple preset since my computer isn't really equipet into doing good-looking painting and I am generally bad at that. She gave it to me a couple of days ago, and I asked her for help since I tried but the preset wasn't showing up in my preset maker.

She gave me instructions and, after even deleting everything in the given preset folder in order to start again and failed, I decided to see whether anyone online could help me...

I could really use a tutorial on making my preset work, and a few things such as, if it works, how do I then pt it on a character?/ how do I give it to my friends for them to download it to see me?.

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2017, 07:46:30 pm »
What folder (1, 2, etc) are you trying to put it in under "my_presets"? Also, mind posting the code?
Farewell everyone<3

Offline BabyBones~

  • Forum Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ro
  • Floof-O-Meter: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2017, 07:54:29 pm »
They are made for preset_folder 12, which I have put them into, but... what's the 'code'? (sorry, but I am young and unexperienced in such things :P)

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2017, 08:01:49 pm »
No worries c: The code is a material file that you should be able to open. When your friend sent you the files they should have included this as well
Farewell everyone<3

Offline BabyBones~

  • Forum Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ro
  • Floof-O-Meter: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2017, 08:05:49 pm »
Oh, they have included that file, and I have replaced the default given one with the one she gave me. The problem is it doesn't seem to work... :/

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2017, 08:12:00 pm »
Do you mind pasting everything inside the material file?
Farewell everyone<3

Offline BabyBones~

  • Forum Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ro
  • Floof-O-Meter: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2017, 08:20:34 pm »
What do you mean by pasting everything iside the material file? You mean the preset file, right...?

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2017, 10:04:16 pm »
Open up the material file that your friend sent you. Normally it is opened via notepad, and the first dozen or so lines should look something like this (it won't be exactly the same). Copy everything in the file so I can look it over (in case there's an error somewhere etc)

Code: [Select]
material preset_12_bodyMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture preset_12Lbody.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_12_bodyMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
texture preset_12Rbody.png
}
}
}
}
Farewell everyone<3

Offline Arandomperson

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 314
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2017, 04:58:50 pm »
This is the code i used to make her preset.

material preset_12_bodyMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12bodyL.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_bodyMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12bodyR.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_headMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12headL.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_headMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12headR.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_eyeMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12eyeL.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_eyeMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12eyeR.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_tailMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12tail.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_12_maneMat
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         cull_hardware none
         cull_software none
         alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_12mane.png
         }
      }
   }
}
Merrp

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Issues On Using A Preset??
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2017, 07:33:34 pm »
Doesn't appear like there's anything wrong to me. Are all the files .png?

Another thing you could do is try moving everything into another preset folder (and of course changing the numbers in that code), sometimes that works for people
Farewell everyone<3