Author Topic: 'not found' textures  (Read 1647 times)

Offline Goldchocobo

  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • Country: gb
  • Floof-O-Meter: 67
    • Aquachocobo
    • GoldchocoboFH
    • View Profile
'not found' textures
« on: July 18, 2011, 12:03:32 am »
ok, I have been given some unskinned meshes by somes for a map I m trying to make, but when I try and skin them with textures other than rockMat1-6 it says "____not found!" I have typed in ___PNG ___.PNG ___JPEG ___.JPEG and ___Mat but nothing seems to work- I was wondering if anyone could help me. :)

Offline Ruby1234

  • Mean Tutorial Queen
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,794
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 297
  • aka Phloxenfree.
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 12:30:59 am »
Screenshot please?

Thunderheart

  • Guest
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2011, 12:52:20 am »
You can't just put a texture image onto the mesh, you have to create a material file first.
When you tried to create a material for it and it didn't work, you either typed the mat name wrong, or there is an error in the material code.

Offline Goldchocobo

  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • Country: gb
  • Floof-O-Meter: 67
    • Aquachocobo
    • GoldchocoboFH
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2011, 02:12:21 am »
I did see that. but when I tried to reate a material file- it didn't save as such. it was just a plain ol' word-pad... I can only edit material- not create...

Offline Ruby1234

  • Mean Tutorial Queen
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,794
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 297
  • aka Phloxenfree.
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2011, 02:18:08 am »
Right click and drag a Material file to a different spot in that folder, then select copy here. Rename the file, then make your Mat code inside, erasing the others.

Offline Goldchocobo

  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • Country: gb
  • Floof-O-Meter: 67
    • Aquachocobo
    • GoldchocoboFH
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2011, 03:31:04 am »
Sill won't work  :'(

the mesh is called cg_armory.mesh

and here is the code I used to try and skin it:
Code: [Select]

material cg_armoury.mesh
{
technique
{
pass
{
ambient 0.6 0.318 0 1
cull_hardware none
cull_software none

texture_unit
{
texture cgau1.PNG
}
}

}

}

material cg_armoury.mesh
{
technique
{
pass
{
ambient 0.6 0.318 0 1
cull_hardware none
cull_software none

texture_unit
{
texture DarkWoodTex.JPEG
}
}

}

}

it has 2 textures- one for the walls and one for the roof.

Offline Ruby1234

  • Mean Tutorial Queen
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,794
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 297
  • aka Phloxenfree.
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2011, 03:40:44 am »
Okay if that's the mesh name then that's the one you type in the first blank and load it.
"cg_armoury.mesh"

But before you do that, change your material file to have this code:
Code: [Select]
material CGMat
{
technique
{
pass
{
                        ambient 0.6 0.318 0 1
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
texture_unit
{
texture cgau1.png
}
}
}
}
material CGMat2
{
technique
{
pass
{
                        ambient 0.6 0.318 0 1
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
texture_unit
{
texture DarkWoodTex.jpg
}
}
}
}
Then when you type in the material name in the second blank, you need to type either
CGMat
or
CGMat2

Offline Goldchocobo

  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • Country: gb
  • Floof-O-Meter: 67
    • Aquachocobo
    • GoldchocoboFH
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2011, 11:32:11 pm »
 :D thank you so much! It all works now!  ;D

Offline Ruby1234

  • Mean Tutorial Queen
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,794
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 297
  • aka Phloxenfree.
    • View Profile
Re: 'not found' textures
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2011, 02:20:34 am »
Happy to help. ;)