Author Topic: Preset Help  (Read 2036 times)

Offline morallydefunct

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 245
  • Floof-O-Meter: 8
  • Brother.
    • View Profile
Preset Help
« on: June 16, 2014, 05:31:02 am »
As the title says, I'm having trouble with presets. I'm a beginner, by the way.

I looked at the preset tutorial on the site and read it, actually i skimmed it but I was still a bit confused.

It states that twelve presets can be made, and even more if you 'move around' a lot of things. I copied the materials from preset_1 and pasted the materials into preset_3 for my Empire preset. I completed the body, replaced all 'texturepreset' with 'Empire' in the notepad (for the preset_3 material), and set all the textures as a PNG image. Yet, the lion comes up as purely white in the game. x_x Like I said, I'm a beginner. I'm still learning this stuff.



>mfw i see internet arguments

Offline PrettyReckless

  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,285
  • Country: england
  • Floof-O-Meter: 218
    • RecklessAce
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 06:09:27 am »
If I am understanding this correctly.
You exported the image file as png?
Always double check if you accidentally have a jpg file.

Changed the name to example: preset_3body.png
Changed the material file code "texture unit preset_3body.png"?

Restarted your game?

Did you change anything besides that?
Deleted any codes?

I usually look up things on YouTube, or the member tutorials on the forum. ^^
If you can copy the codes from the material file or, even better, take a screenshot of it as well as of the folder, it could be easier to see what's wrong.

(At work so I don't have any resources to give you better help atm.)
RETIRED.

Offline morallydefunct

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 245
  • Floof-O-Meter: 8
  • Brother.
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 06:40:52 am »
The images are still PNG, but they were originally JPG.

I've restarted the game multiple times. v.v

http://s1281.photobucket.com/user/RulingDictator/media/26834632_zpsc716e024.png.html?sort=3&o=1

http://s1281.photobucket.com/user/RulingDictator/media/594075_zps017f60be.png.html?sort=3&o=0

http://s1281.photobucket.com/user/RulingDictator/media/26834631_zps0bb75b03.png.html?sort=3&o=2

http://s1281.photobucket.com/user/RulingDictator/media/5209356_zpsbea3111c.png.html?filters[user]=135016703&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0

^^^^
Images I try to upload in posts are usually 'broken'. x.x So, here's some links. (sorry. |D)

Thanks for the help. ^^ I really appreciate it.


>mfw i see internet arguments

Offline PrettyReckless

  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,285
  • Country: england
  • Floof-O-Meter: 218
    • RecklessAce
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 07:08:33 am »
Since the images are png, you need to change them from jpg to png in the material file as well.

Wow phone does NOT like photobucket.

Try replacing the body code with
Code: [Select]
material preset_3_bodyMatL
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
Empire_3body.png
}
}
}
}
material preset_3_bodyMatR
{
technique
{
pass
{
texture_unit
{
Empire_3body.png
}
}
}
}
« Last Edit: June 16, 2014, 07:32:00 am by PrettyReckless »
RETIRED.

Offline morallydefunct

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 245
  • Floof-O-Meter: 8
  • Brother.
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2014, 01:51:57 pm »
I changed all the jpg to png in the material file like said so. The body is still coming out as purely white. Though, I didn't just change the body. I also changed it for the head, tail, and eye.

What if I were to change everything back to JPG?


>mfw i see internet arguments

Offline forks

  • tiny silverware enthusiast
  • Finest Floof
  • ***
  • Posts: 922
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 60
  • icon by reudiart
    • soupforks
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2014, 02:50:45 pm »
So you moved preset_1 files into preset_3? Make sure you rename the files from preset_1 to preset_3 EX:
You wouldnt want this in preset 3:
Preset_1body Preset_1head Preset_1eyes ect
Make sure you rightclick on the file and click rename and do this:
Preset_3body Preset_3head Preset_3eyes ect. hope this helped!


signature by g0thic_vibes1

Offline shayy

  • Pack & Pride Representative
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,241
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 73
  • World Class Shawty
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2014, 03:04:19 pm »
*try EXPORTING the file instead if saving it. For example export it the same way you would save it (as a png) I'm not home so I can't show you but if you still have this problem I should be online in about an hour.
pm for free art i need practice

Offline PrettyReckless

  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,285
  • Country: england
  • Floof-O-Meter: 218
    • RecklessAce
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2014, 03:09:35 pm »
I changed all the jpg to png in the material file like said so. The body is still coming out as purely white. Though, I didn't just change the body. I also changed it for the head, tail, and eye.

What if I were to change everything back to JPG?
Oh.. I wasn't able to see the images on my phone, so I had to ask a friend to read it for me.
Right, Look at the images names.

"Empire_body" and in your material file it says "Empire_3body"
They need to be the same.
So if it says "Empire_Body" you put the same in the matieral file.


RETIRED.

Offline morallydefunct

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 245
  • Floof-O-Meter: 8
  • Brother.
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2014, 03:35:49 pm »
material preset_Empire_bodyMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirebody.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_bodyMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirebody.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_headMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirehead.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_headMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirehead.png
         }


Current code for Empire's preset. By the way, I AM exporting, not saving. The images are saved as Empire_body, etc. The material file is preset_3 (should I change it?).


>mfw i see internet arguments

Offline PrettyReckless

  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,285
  • Country: england
  • Floof-O-Meter: 218
    • RecklessAce
    • View Profile
Re: Preset Help
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2014, 04:15:23 pm »
Quote.
material preset_Empire_bodyMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirebody.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_bodyMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirebody.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_headMatL
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirehead.png
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_Empire_headMatR
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         texture_unit
         {
            texture preset_Empirehead.png
         }


Current code for Empire's preset. By the way, I AM exporting, not saving. The images are saved as Empire_body, etc. The material file is preset_3 (should I change it?).

If the image is only named "EmpireHead" or "EmpireBody" you won't need the "preset_" infront of it.
So if it's "Empire_Body" it should be "texture empire_body.png".
RETIRED.