Author Topic: Grouping and making the Objects?  (Read 963 times)

HolyWaters

Grouping and making the Objects?
« on: December 30, 2011, 08:08:31 am »
Hey, I'm pretty new to map making, but found some amazing objects from Hammy, but unlike Drek's, it didn't have an install option. I have NO clue how to get them into the map maker to be able to use them. I've also searched the forums for anything relating to Group, Grouping, and Objects, and nothing explains it clearly like I need it. The objects I downloaded came with a  read-me file (like most do) that said to place it all in my_objects. Did. It also said to place the read-me file in there, but they are all titled the same so they wanted to overwrite each other, so I didn't put those in there.
What do I do to get them in the map-maker so I can use them? I need idiot-proof steps, literally, if there is one minor detail not mentioned I'm L.O.S.T. If you could help that would be great!

Offline Windance

• Experienced Traveler
  • Floof-O-Meter: 14
  • Om nom om om
    • View Profile
    • My Preset Thread
Re: Grouping and making the Objects?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 08:12:03 am »
For best results, I would message the creator of the objects so they can help you, but in this case, open up the readme file with notepad, and copy the contents. Then go into the my_objects folder, open that readme, and paste the contents inside. See what is different, and what is the same. If anything is repeated, delete that. Basically what you're trying to do is to add the new info from the downloaded readme file without overwriting what you have.

Hope this helps!

HolyWaters

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 11:44:44 pm »
That didn't help v.v I tried doing what you said. I opened the Readme and saved is as TestOne. It saved it as a text file and nothing happened. I need thorough details on what to do.

Offline Redlinelies

• The FeralHeart Guru
  • Immortal Legend
  • Floof-O-Meter: 792
  • Modoru Pride
    • redlinelies