Author Topic: The Movie Maker  (Read 1729 times)

Offline Hohki

• Curious Wanderer
  • Floof-O-Meter: 1
    • View Profile
The Movie Maker
« on: September 01, 2013, 09:05:26 pm »
If this is in the wrong place, please move it.

I was just browsing through the game's files when I found something interesting: the overlay programming for the movie maker in the tools screen. I knew it wasn't just the multiplayer movie maker because it had things for selecting a map and adding characters. This means that there is an at least partially functional movie-making tool in the game's coding. It's only a matter of accessing it.

I'm not very good at hacking, so I tried accessing it the same way one would access the flora editor in Spore: I made a shortcut and added "-state:moviemaker". Obviously, it didn't work, or else everyone and their dog would know about it by now.

I know some people here on FH are better at getting to this sort of thing than I am. If anyone can find a way to access the Movie Maker artifact, I will be willing to pay them for the information depending on how hard it is to get to.

Thanks in advance,

~Hohki

EDIT: To make it more clear, by "hacking" I meant something like the EMB mods, not editing the map files (which is what the rule is specifically referring to). Furthermore, the "overlay programming" is not an encrypted file--it can be opened, read, and modified in Notepad without having any effect on the game itself, so I was not breaking the rules by taking a quick look through there.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2013, 03:22:34 pm by Hohki »

Offline zady

• I BLAME RAZ!
  • Finest Floof
  • Floof-O-Meter: 56
  • DJ Rin
    • View Profile
    • Deviant Art
Re: The Movie Maker
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 09:58:17 pm »
well for one i really don't think you should be messing with the game files like that...