Author Topic: Two Preset Mane Questions (FIXED)  (Read 1328 times)

Offline Kalaban

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 116
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 6
  • #TooLazy
    • View Profile
Two Preset Mane Questions (FIXED)
« on: May 21, 2016, 01:49:38 pm »



Seeing from the beautiful display of pictures above, I have two /minor/ problems.

This is my first preset. I've had the help of tb's free preset maker. (Beautiful helper for organizing things) And my encouraging friend about 95% of the way. He is asleep right now. :) I just finished working on the mane. I am unsure if the code was incorrect after so many years (the topic was made in 2013) And that was the reason for it being see through? so I have come here.

Adding on to that, I have questions on how to fix the white blocks.

Please tell me if you need screenshots of the coloring/etc.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 02:51:40 pm by Kalaban »
In-game Username: Kalaban

Offline Enoki

  • Herba Chronographus
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,698
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 121
  • Who lives in a portabella under a tree?
    • FantasyFungus
    • EnokiTheDryphon
    • Enoki_G
    • View Profile
    • The Realms of Yugure
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 01:59:49 pm »
Off the top of m'head, I can say the reason to the white blocks is probably b'cause the image isn't a .png file. Be sure to export in .png's so that anything that needs to be invisible stays that way through the exporting step.

As f'er the code, I've rummaged through the forums - since I'm away from m'computer and all codes I normally use - and found this beaut.

Code: [Select]
material preset_#_maneMat
{
 technique
 {
  pass
  {
   cull_hardware none
   cull_software none
   alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
   texture_unit
   {
    texture preset_#mane.png
   }
  }
 }
}

Compare y'er code with this one and if y'ers is any different, just r'place it with this. Be sure to r'move the #'s with the corresponding preset folder number.

Tmw you planned a ten minute nap but instead took a whole year.
☙Icon by dA JRProducts; Sig by PocketMutt❧

Offline Kalaban

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 116
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 6
  • #TooLazy
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 02:04:58 pm »
Off the top of m'head, I can say the reason to the white blocks is probably b'cause the image isn't a .png file. Be sure to export in .png's so that anything that needs to be invisible stays that way through the exporting step.

Let me go try this and see if it works. The whole section as a 9, when I looked in "how to preset," was a .jpg. I guess the mane must stay .png. :)


As f'er the code, I've rummaged through the forums - since I'm away from m'computer and all codes I normally use - and found this beaut.

Code: [Select]
material preset_#_maneMat
{
 technique
 {
  pass
  {
   cull_hardware none
   cull_software none
   alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
   texture_unit
   {
    texture preset_#mane.png
   }
  }
 }
}

Compare y'er code with this one and if y'ers is any different, just r'place it with this. Be sure to r'move the #'s with the corresponding preset folder number.

I'll go try it and see if it works! Will reply with pictures if it does/doesn't. Thank you, Enoki!

Edit: this is what I originally had, just for you all to beware if looking. Lol.

Code: [Select]
material preset_9_maneMat
{
  technique
  {
   pass
   {
   lighting off
   cull_hardware none
   cull_software none
   scene_blend alpha_blend
   depth_write off
   texture_unit
   {
     texture preset_9mane.jpg
   }
   }
  }
}
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 02:06:35 pm by Kalaban »
In-game Username: Kalaban

Offline Kalaban

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 116
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 6
  • #TooLazy
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2016, 02:11:28 pm »
Update:

The preset mane is now messed up again. *Sigh.*

I tried switching it both to .png and .jpg with the same result happening, so I believe it 'tis the code.


In-game Username: Kalaban

Offline Kynvuu

  • #Grimstagram
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,538
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 212
  • I'm not saying that it was aliens but...
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2016, 02:24:08 pm »
The image should indeed be a .png, but you'll also want to make sure you're using the correct mane mask. In your texture folders there should be a mane mask that looks like a black square with a few upside down triangles sticking out on the bottom, and a transparent area around those triangles. You want to lock the transparency on that mask so you can only color where it is black. It's important that the transparency around the black area stay transparent. Then save that as a .png. If you have already done this, then you might have a issue with your image corresponding to your code.

Its very important that your image name is exactly the same as what is written next to the texture part of your code. So for example, if your code says:

Code: [Select]
  texture preset_9mane.png
Then your image must be: preset_9mane.png, otherwise it won't work.

Also make sure this part of the code at the top reads:

Code: [Select]
material preset_9_maneMat
On a temporary leave. Please contact other members of staff if you need assistance.

Offline D-ead7Dog

  • AFK NPC
  • Member Of The Season
  • Pack & Pride Representative
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,462
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 98
  • BUMPY SNOW
    • D-ead7Dog
    • d-ead7dog
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2016, 02:43:00 pm »
Code: [Select]
The codes I use for a mane is;

[code]material preset_1_maneMat
{
technique
{
pass
{
ambient 2.0 2.0 2.0
cull_hardware none
cull_software none
scene_blend alpha_blend
alpha_rejection greater_equal 250
texture_unit
{
texture [color=red]preset_1mane.png[/color]
}
}
}
}

You should change your texture name [file] to preset_1mane.png if you can.
Should fix the white part. Also don't forget to make the file png. [or jpg if you want. I highly suggest png but choose whatever. ;)
Like what was done here;


The reason for it being 'see through' is because of the code being used [my guess]. I noticed when you change the code it doesn't quite become as see through. While for a normal model without a preset the mane is just fine.[/code]
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 02:58:22 pm by Pkf7 »
WORK IN PROGRESS
Artwork (c) LynxBrush & Majorest

Originally registered January 15, 2011

Offline Kalaban

  • Experienced Traveler
  • **
  • Posts: 116
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 6
  • #TooLazy
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2016, 02:51:21 pm »
It's fixed! Thank you all. <3
In-game Username: Kalaban

Offline D-ead7Dog

  • AFK NPC
  • Member Of The Season
  • Pack & Pride Representative
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,462
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 98
  • BUMPY SNOW
    • D-ead7Dog
    • d-ead7dog
    • View Profile
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions (FIXED)
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2016, 02:57:14 pm »
So glad! :)
Have a good day!
WORK IN PROGRESS
Artwork (c) LynxBrush & Majorest

Originally registered January 15, 2011

Offline Warriorstrike

  • . "The truth is often what we make of it; you heard what you wanted to hear, believed what you wanted to believe."
  • Ancient Silver Mane
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,221
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 346
  • . Remember… the Force will be with you. Always.
    • warriorstrike
    • warriorstrike
    • View Profile
    • My Tumblr
Re: Two Preset Mane Questions (FIXED)
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2016, 04:50:02 pm »
I'm glad to see that you've fixed the issue. I'll be locking this up since your problem has been resolved.

If you define yourself by the power to take life, the desire to dominate, to possess… then you have nothing.