Author Topic: How to properly put in custom music!  (Read 2544 times)

Offline Wolflover224

  • Community Champion
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,582
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
  • Im an IRL dolphin; On hiatus
    • the-sketchy-orca
    • View Profile
How to properly put in custom music!
« on: August 16, 2017, 09:11:26 pm »
So I'm making a whole bunch of maps and some have custom music implemented into it, but the tracks aren't working.
I've modified music.cfg to include the title of a map soundtrack with the music itself listed below, like what was already in there. But for some reason, it's not working. I've put my computer volume all the way up and turned on the music in the options and it's still not playing.
Help?

Offline Azurain

  • 🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃
  • Member Of The Season
  • Elder Grey Pelt
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,294
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 183
  • an actual forest gremlin
    • lark-bird
    • View Profile
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 09:20:30 pm »
First things first, did you put the actual music tracks in FH>Media>Music? If so, make sure your audio tracks are in .mp3 format. If the actual files are not in .mp3, it won't work no matter what you put in your .cfg.

Offline VortexAlive

  • Eevee Knight
  • Honored Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,080
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 180
  • A wild floof has appeared!
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • View Profile
    • VortexAlive is Rawrsome
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 09:30:12 pm »
Aslo when testing if music for a map works, be sure to actually hit the "Test" button since music for the map doesn't actually play in the editor.
For the sake of my own health and interests, I've left FH and I won't be looking back.

Offline Wolflover224

  • Community Champion
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,582
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
  • Im an IRL dolphin; On hiatus
    • the-sketchy-orca
    • View Profile
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 10:07:37 pm »
First things first, did you put the actual music tracks in FH>Media>Music? If so, make sure your audio tracks are in .mp3 format. If the actual files are not in .mp3, it won't work no matter what you put in your .cfg.

I believe they are all mp3s as they play in groove music and stuff and they are all in the music folder. They're from a mod pack I made. I have the originals in a seperate folder and I made copies to put directly into the music folder.

Offline Wolflover224

  • Community Champion
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,582
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
  • Im an IRL dolphin; On hiatus
    • the-sketchy-orca
    • View Profile
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2017, 10:07:47 pm »
Aslo when testing if music for a map works, be sure to actually hit the "Test" button since music for the map doesn't actually play in the editor.

I do

Offline VortexAlive

  • Eevee Knight
  • Honored Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,080
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 180
  • A wild floof has appeared!
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • View Profile
    • VortexAlive is Rawrsome
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2017, 10:45:54 pm »
Ahh I see...
For maps there is a "Music (Group or Filename)" field in the map editor.
You can either put in just a single file name for 1 music track like so: yourmusicfile.mp3
or
You can create a special group in the music.cfg with several music files listed in that group so that the map plays several different music tracks like so (The group would be type like so: "YourMusicGroupName" without the "s):
Code: [Select]
[Title]
media/music/title.mp3
[Plains]
media/music/plains1.mp3
media/music/plains2.mp3
media/music/plains3.mp3
media/music/plains4.mp3
media/music/plains5.mp3
media/music/plains6.mp3
media/music/plains7.mp3
media/music/plains8.mp3
media/music/plains9.mp3
media/music/plains10.mp3
media/music/plains11.mp3
media/music/plains12.mp3
media/music/plains13.mp3
media/music/plains14.mp3
media/music/plains15.mp3
media/music/plains16.mp3
media/music/plains17.mp3
[Caves]
media/music/caves1.mp3
media/music/caves2.mp3
media/music/caves3.mp3
media/music/caves4.mp3
media/music/caves5.mp3
[Sacred]

[YourMusicGroupName]
media/music/yourmusicfile.mp3
media/music/yourmusicfile2.mp3
[YourSecondMusicGroup]
media/music/yourmusicfile3.mp3
media/music/yourmusicfile4.mp3
Etc! :D

Edit: Note that you will need to share both the music files and the music.cfg in order for it to work for others.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 10:48:18 pm by VortexAlive »
For the sake of my own health and interests, I've left FH and I won't be looking back.

Offline Wolflover224

  • Community Champion
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,582
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
  • Im an IRL dolphin; On hiatus
    • the-sketchy-orca
    • View Profile
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2017, 09:37:34 pm »
Ahh I see...
For maps there is a "Music (Group or Filename)" field in the map editor.
You can either put in just a single file name for 1 music track like so: yourmusicfile.mp3
or
You can create a special group in the music.cfg with several music files listed in that group so that the map plays several different music tracks like so (The group would be type like so: "YourMusicGroupName" without the "s):
Code: [Select]
[Title]
media/music/title.mp3
[Plains]
media/music/plains1.mp3
media/music/plains2.mp3
media/music/plains3.mp3
media/music/plains4.mp3
media/music/plains5.mp3
media/music/plains6.mp3
media/music/plains7.mp3
media/music/plains8.mp3
media/music/plains9.mp3
media/music/plains10.mp3
media/music/plains11.mp3
media/music/plains12.mp3
media/music/plains13.mp3
media/music/plains14.mp3
media/music/plains15.mp3
media/music/plains16.mp3
media/music/plains17.mp3
[Caves]
media/music/caves1.mp3
media/music/caves2.mp3
media/music/caves3.mp3
media/music/caves4.mp3
media/music/caves5.mp3
[Sacred]

[YourMusicGroupName]
media/music/yourmusicfile.mp3
media/music/yourmusicfile2.mp3
[YourSecondMusicGroup]
media/music/yourmusicfile3.mp3
media/music/yourmusicfile4.mp3
Etc! :D

Edit: Note that you will need to share both the music files and the music.cfg in order for it to work for others.

That's what I've been doing. Should it be double spaced inbetween the default tracks and the custom tracks?

Offline VortexAlive

  • Eevee Knight
  • Honored Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,080
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 180
  • A wild floof has appeared!
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • View Profile
    • VortexAlive is Rawrsome
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2017, 10:08:40 pm »
No, there's no need for that extra space.

Make sure your in-game music volume is enabled!
For the sake of my own health and interests, I've left FH and I won't be looking back.

Offline Wolflover224

  • Community Champion
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,582
  • Country: 00
  • Floof-O-Meter: 16
  • Im an IRL dolphin; On hiatus
    • the-sketchy-orca
    • View Profile
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2017, 11:21:40 pm »
No, there's no need for that extra space.

Make sure your in-game music volume is enabled!

It is and it's still not working. The music files are mp3's, and have their own music file name and the in-game music volume is up. Still not working, double checked for typos; found none.

Offline VortexAlive

  • Eevee Knight
  • Honored Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,080
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 180
  • A wild floof has appeared!
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • VortexAlive
    • View Profile
    • VortexAlive is Rawrsome
Re: How to properly put in custom music!
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2017, 11:32:53 pm »
When you go into the Map Maker, in the Music field, what are you typing?
For the sake of my own health and interests, I've left FH and I won't be looking back.