Author Topic: Some preset help?  (Read 3833 times)

Offline Shazadah

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 11
  • Call me NaruWolf
    • http://shay-wolf.deviantart.com
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/Mid
    • View Profile
Some preset help?
« on: November 18, 2013, 03:58:38 am »
So I've begun to make presets thanks to the help of a friend who's made them before (preset making has become quite addictive for me XD), and I had a few questions to ask about preset making, all help is welcome!

1. Is it possible to make additional preset folders? Can I make new folders i.e. preset_13 to add to the original 12 and use it for preset making?

2. Is there a way to make a transparent wing preset? I've seen them before and would like to know how to make them as well, I tried coding the material file myself but the wings don't at all appear in FeralHeart.

3. In correspondence to number 1 above, if it is not possible to make additional folders then is it possible to reuse one of the original 12 preset folders to make another preset aside from the one that was there before (meaning can I reuse the folder and export the preset and still have the one from before, or in other case without replacing)?


I apologize if these questions are not easy to answer if not impossible, but I am quite curious and would like to know (my curiousity does often get the better of me XD). Thanks for the help!

AlphaEclipse

  • Guest
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 04:13:24 am »
Haha! Glad to see you're starting to make presets, floof.

1. Nope. I'm not sure exactly why, but I'm pretty sure it has to do something about how the game is coded and whatnot.

2. Yerp! All you must do is apply a invisible/transparent code into your preset's .mat file.
Code: [Select]
material preset_?_equipMatL
{
      receive_shadows on
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
                     ambient 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000
                    diffuse 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000
                     specular 0.050000 0.050000 0.050000 1.000000 12.500000
                     emissive 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
                    cull_hardware none
                     cull_software none
                     scene_blend alpha_blend
             alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
                     texture_unit
         {
            texture Transparentbody.png
                         tex_address_mode wrap
                         filtering trilinear
         }
      }
   }
}
material preset_?_equipMatR
{
      receive_shadows on
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
                     ambient 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000
                    diffuse 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000 1.000000
                     specular 0.050000 0.050000 0.050000 1.000000 12.500000
                     emissive 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
                    cull_hardware none
                     cull_software none
                     scene_blend alpha_blend
             alpha_rejection greater_equal 128
                     texture_unit
         {
            texture Transparentbody.png
                         tex_address_mode wrap
                         filtering trilinear
         }
      }
   }
}

Here's a tutorial on how to actually create 'em. http://www.feral-heart.com/index.php?option=com_jfusion&Itemid=2&jfile=index.php&topic=34786.0
 3.If I understand what you mean, yes, you could save a copy of the preset you are going to replace, and then switch it back whenever you want. I do it all the time. But no, you can't do this with he same folders in my_presets. I save them to desktop or other folders I've made in desktop.

EDIT: I couldn't help but laugh at that, Kiki. x'D
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 04:19:04 am by AlphaEclipse »

Offline Kerriki

  • Band Geek
  • Immortal Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,670
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 371
  • Who needs furniture when you have the floor?
    • Kikiorylandia
    • View Profile
    • DeviantART
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 04:14:08 am »
1. No, not that I know of.
2. Yus there is, I'll give you the link to a great preset tutorial in a minute. look at Alpha's post above xD
3. Yes you can, simply just cover up the old colors with new ones!
Farewell everyone<3

Offline Shazadah

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 11
  • Call me NaruWolf
    • http://shay-wolf.deviantart.com
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/Mid
    • View Profile
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 04:28:00 am »
1. Darn, it would make things so much easier if it were possible!

2. Ok, I might have that code somewhere because I made an earlier attempt to make a transparent preset, I just wanna know about transparent wings

3. Hmmm...Well what I mean is can I have doubles of the same file but both are completely different presets, i.e. Shazadah_11.fhp is the first preset, and Shazadah_11(2).fhp is the second preset exported from the same file. Would the game be able to do that? I'm sorry if I'm making this more confusing then it needs to be

Thanks!

AlphaEclipse

  • Guest
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2013, 04:31:53 am »
1. Darn, it would make things so much easier if it were possible!

2. Ok, I might have that code somewhere because I made an earlier attempt to make a transparent preset, I just wanna know about transparent wings

3. Hmmm...Well what I mean is can I have doubles of the same file but both are completely different presets, i.e. Shazadah_11.fhp is the first preset, and Shazadah_11(2).fhp is the second preset exported from the same file. Would the game be able to do that? I'm sorry if I'm making this more confusing then it needs to be

Thanks!

1. I know how you feel... I'm constantly switching out presets.

2. Click da linkie. :3

3. Nope. The game doesn't run like that. Sorrie. :c

Offline Shazadah

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 11
  • Call me NaruWolf
    • http://shay-wolf.deviantart.com
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/Mid
    • View Profile
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2013, 07:23:26 am »
1. That's just more work XD

2. Ok X3

3. I wish it did, that means I can have only a max of 12 presets doesn't it? Aside from the ones I download from friends

AlphaEclipse

  • Guest
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2013, 08:09:19 pm »
1. That's just more work XD

2. Ok X3

3. I wish it did, that means I can have only a max of 12 presets doesn't it? Aside from the ones I download from friends

3. You could only have 12 at one time. If ya' switch 'em out, then you could have more than 12, technically.

Offline Shazadah

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 11
  • Call me NaruWolf
    • http://shay-wolf.deviantart.com
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/Mid
    • View Profile
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2013, 02:35:27 am »
3. But only 12 exported right? What would happen if I switched out a preset for another in a preset folder and exported it, would that replace the current exported preset that was there before?

AlphaEclipse

  • Guest
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2013, 02:46:00 am »
If you mean you export two different presets from different files, then no, they won't replace. If they are from the same folder and you just switched them out, then yes, they will.

Offline Shazadah

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: us
  • Floof-O-Meter: 11
  • Call me NaruWolf
    • http://shay-wolf.deviantart.com
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/Mid
    • View Profile
Re: Some preset help?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2013, 06:02:04 am »
Ah, ok, so a limit of 12 exported presets total correct?

And back to question number 2, I applied the coding to the preset_11 file so that I can make transparent wings and it's not working, the wings in the Preset Maker appear as black and yellow and not as I want them. Do they have to be completely invisible? Because that's not my intension, I'm trying to make the membrane (or the arm as you might call it) non-transparent, and the wing part in between the membrane transparent.